It’s finally happened:

My “baby” has become a boy. I’m not even sure how it happened. One evening we all went to bed, and the next day I woke up and my 3 year old was going to school. No, not daycare. An actual “bigboy” riding on a bus with a backpack to an elementary school kind of preschool. He’s in a special program for kids with speach problems. He has several delays in that area and in others. So I know he’s getting some MUCH needed help. But I still can’t help but notice it’s another chapter ending.

No longer contempt to be fed, or held (and some days even kissed!) My little “man?” for lack of a better word is all grown up now.

But he still wears diapers and drinks from a sippy, I tell myself constantly. Not because I haven’t tried putting him on the potty; oh please! It’s on Zaden’s terms now. I’ve tried and tried but to no avail. And he has more fun spilling a cup than drinking from them, but who wouldn’t? Sometimes I have days where I feel like pouring my coffee all over everything and everyone; ie Mondays. But as an adult, I’ve learned to withold those urges, as a toddler he cannot  and does not, so he drinks from a sippy. Makes a busy Mommy’s life, and an even busier Daddy’s a whole lot easier.

But despite these typically “baby-like” behaviors, my baby is long gone. I see it in his face a little more everyday. He’s become a boy. A handsome, wonderful, amazing sweet little boy, who could use a few more kisses from his Momma.

Leave a Reply

